top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMeg Miller

The History of Signs on Penn Road

It was 2008 and I was getting tired of seeing the signs everywhere in my neighborhood about redistricting the local schools. I had also noticed a new sign store nearby. One day I was at the kitchen sink washing the dishes and looking out at my garbage area where there was a discarded sign from my daughter's recent high school play. All of a sudden a whoosh of inspiration filled me: "I could put my own signs out!" I wanted to express the values in my heart and share what I have learned from being a psychologist and a spiritual seeker. So I started a list of words that are important to me...love, gratitude, kindness, truth. Soon I was sculpting them into short phrases that could fit on an 18" x 24" sign and posting them on my front lawn on Penn Road in Wynnewood, Pennsylvania.

Now, 13 years later, I'm leaving my house and downsizing to a nearby town. As a result, my sign practice has had to come to an end. But an active neighborhood thread on Facebook recently showed me that many people have enjoyed reflecting on the signs' messages and a few suggested that I continue to share by writing. So here I am. I'm planning to blog about what each sign means and hoping to stimulate thoughts and feelings. Please subscribe if you're interested.


215 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

LET YOUR AUTHENTIC SELF SHINE THROUGH

What IS the authentic self? Most of us don’t realize that we unconsciously create a self in order to cope with our early family environment. We do more of what our parents like and less of what they d

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page